Election Endorsements

State Employees of Arkansas Political Action Committee (SEAPAC) members have been hard at work analyzing potential endorsees. Below we highlight those candidates who demonstrated positive support of state employee concerns. Since its inception, SEAPAC has allowed state employees to make a difference. State employees are given the opportunity to add their own small individual contribution, whether of time or money to a larger movement. SEAPAC is a non-partisan corporation that supports candidates on both sides of the aisle.

We are proud to announce that SEAPAC has endorsed 20 candidates in the House and Senate race for the state’s 2014 general election. Endorsements are listed below. An endorsement is recognition of a candidate’s commitment to the important issues of State of Arkansas employees. The candidates selected recognize that state employees are an invaluable asset to the State. The endorsement is intended to draw attention on the issues that matter to Arkansas State Employees such as compensation, mileage reimbursement and health insurance. Each candidate was given an opportunity to answer a series of questions by legislative questionnaire or phone interview. Based on an evaluation of their answers the SEAPAC committee members made the decision of endorsement.

SEAPAC does not make contributions to unopposed House or Senate candidates. SEAPAC does not endorse gubernatorial candidates.This election is critical to state employees—legislators will be faced with the challenge of balancing tax cuts with the needs of the State. Your vote and your voice is extremely important.

Judy Beatty, SEAPAC President


2014 SEAPAC Endorsements

State Senate

Senator Bill Sample, District 14 (R)

Senator James McLean, District 63 (D)

Senator Robert Thompson, District 20 (D)

House of Representatives

Democratic Candidate, Radius Baker, District 52 (D)

Representative Nate Bell, District 20 (R)

Representative Ken Bragg, District 15 (R)

Representative Mary Broadaway, District 57 (D)

Representative John Catlett, District 73 (D)

Representative Harold Copenhaver, District 58 (D)

Democratic Candidate, Damon Daniels, District 18 (D)

Representative Andy Davis, District 31 (R)

Representative Fonda Hawthorne, District 4 (D)

Representative Mike Holcomb, District 10 (D)

Democratic Candidate, Danny Knight, District 41 (D)

Representative David Kizzia, District 26 (D)

Representative Sheilla Lampkin, District 9 (D)

Representative Homer Lenderman, District 53 (D)

Representative James Ratliff, District 60 (D)

Democratic Candidate, Frank Shaw, District 70 (D)

Representative Tommy Thompson, District 65 (D)


The Senate race features one unopposed candidate and four opposed. SEAPAC endorsed three Senate candidates. The House of Representative race features one unopposed candidates and 38 with opposition. SEAPAC endorsed 17 House candidates. Every attempt was made to obtain questionnaire information from candidates. There were several races where SEAPAC chose a neutral stance. Both candidates expressed ideas that would be beneficial to state employees. If you do not see a SEAPAC endorsee in your district or have questions regarding the endorsement process please call SEAPAC liaison, John Bridges at 501-378-0187.